25 Years Galerie Slavik

The Quality of an Idea

Renate Slavik interviewed by Claudia Lehner Jobst

Quality is the principle that has guided Renate Slavik over the past 25 years in her work as a gallery owner. But how does she go about it, how does she define quality in art?

RS: What matters is the message an oeuvre conveys. This is what distinguishes the jeweller‘s art from everyday jewellery. Every objet d’art genuinely represents the world of the artist. To me it is a vital characteristic of quality that this message can also be conveyed in concrete practical terms, in an expressive manner. Ideas need to be implemented in an authentic and descriptive way.

For some years, your active role as a member of the selection committee and your gallery‘s Grassi Award have been integral to every year of your work. Given the abundance of creative output, are a sense of perception and discernment of what is “one and only” in art required?

RS: Often it is hard to make a decision, because there is no such thing as “one and only”. This is the essence of art. Especially in the art of jewellery this precious, special moment occurs, as I have frequently pointed out, when a person finds his or her “counterpart”  in my gallery: the piece of jewellery which she or he wants to wear directly on his or her body or clothes because it reflects something in his or her innermost being, or radiates something, complements his or her personality, enriches her or him in an exciting way or simply gives joy.

My activity as a member of the selection committee makes me happy despite the choices that one has to make, because I enjoy offering young artists a springboard for their careers. Today this is more
important than ever.

What could be the motto, the magic formula for a successful gallery owner, her team, her friends and her artists?

RS: I believe in miracles, and they do happen …

Excerpt from the catalogue Schmuck Stadtgespräch, May 2016,
Renate Slavik interviewed by Claudia Lehner-Jobst

renateslavik

„Sometimes you need to travel to San Francisco to find Vienna’s Himmelpfortgasse …“

“If you like this jewellery, you absolutely mustn‘t fail to go to ‘Velvet da Vinci’ “.
I raised my head and looked into the beaming face of a shop assistant in the museum shop of the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art.
Accompanied by my future husband Gerald, I had gone on an expedition to this place which brought rich pickings: an indispensable piece of jewellery for my collection and a stack of inspiring catalogues and monographs. Some years later, when we had to decide what our wedding ring should look like, we struck gold in one of those books. Gerald and myself chose, independently of one another, a ring made by the jewellery artist Stefano Marchetti. The next step was to find Stefano or rather a gallery selling his products. Overjoyed, I discovered that the place was very close by: the Viennese Slavik Gallery at Himmelpfortgasse 17, which I had known for some time, but had never set foot in it.
Right at our first visit, Renate gave us an extremely
warm welcome and introduced us to her world with such
enthusiasm that I had the impression she made up for all the years in which I had never been there. When I finally mentioned Stefano Marchetti’s name, Renate immediately launched into her praise of this magnificent artist, ending with the phrase: “And he also designs wonderful wedding rings!”

In the meantime, five years have elapsed. Five years which saw wonderful exhibitions, conversations with the artists and an exciting exchange of views with you, Renate – you whirlwind! Gerald once pointedly said about you: “Construction of the Austrian nuclear power plant Zwentendorf was an entirely superfluous affair – considering the energy already emanating from Renate!”

All the best for the next 25 years!

— Ingrid Schulz, Psychiatrist, Vienna

lehnerjobst

Ingrid Schulz with a brooch by Nicola Heidemann

We owe to Renate, our cherished friend, a helluva large number of embellishments and thus enhancements of our looks. If we were to stay on too long with her at her gallery we might well accumulate a heap of debts or become penniless, but NEVER EVER be vexed, because we are decorated, ennobled and – this is no exaggeration – even rejuvenated there! In this spirit we feel very close to our skilled friend Renate, who also has the gift of dispelling any bad mood.

25 years Galerie Slavik – well-deserved praise!

— Luise Kurmayer

kurmayer

Luise Kurmayer with a lapislazuli necklace by Michael Becker

A focal point of the international jewellery art scene: Galerie Slavik in Vienna

“A tiny sheet of paper can contain the whole world!” This wonderful phrase by the painter Wols (Alfred Otto Wolfgang Schulze), whom I regard as one of the most important European artists of the 20th century, can still serve as the mission statement for the Slavik Gallery decades later: a universe of tiny artefacts, a place exuding enormous vitality from its small scale.

I consider Renate Slavik, the highly sensitive founder and owner of the gallery, as a communication artist: with her own fascination, she takes those interested in
jewellery art along on a journey through a microcosm of shapes, materials and transformations. Accordingly, the throng of devoted jewellery aficionados around her is growing rapidly.

The Slavik Gallery is also a place of encounters with artists who present their concepts and freely discuss their further projects. Our world dominated by turbo-capitalism and neo-lib-eralism, where thinking is focused on luxury brands and rankings, has smothered and pushed into the background the pleasure of analysing in depth works of art (for me, this also includes jewellery). There are many jewellery businesses and many hallmarks around, but places where you can get sensuous first-hand experience and explanations have unfortunately become rare. It is not least because of this reason I wish for myself – and all lovers of jewellery art – that this laudable institution may continue to exist for a long time to come.

— Gerald Trimmel, artist and cultural scientist

Portrait-Trimmel-Gerald-web

Gerald Trimmel

1_Plakat

The exhibition JEWELLERY CITY TALK – 25 years Slavik gallery is opening.

2_Die-Gäste

The guests are coming…

3_Renate_Denni

Renate and Denni

3a_Ausschnitt_RS-eröffnet

With a lot of enthusiasm Renate Slavik inaugurates the exhibition joyfully.

4_ein-sapnnendes-Zusammentreffen

An exciting meeting of artists, clients and friends!

5_juttapietsch

Jutta Pietsch-Grabner is presenting the catalogue JEWELLERY CITY TALK documenting our exhibition.

6_der-druckfrische-Katalog

The brandnew catalogue is studied immediately!

7_Charmante-Bewirtung

Charming girls taking care of our guests.

8_Spannende-Schmuckgespräche

Fascinating jewellery talk.

8a_Kundinnen-von-morgen

Tomorrow`s clients…

9_Angeregte-Unterhaltung

Animated talks between jewellery artists and clients.

10_KünstlerInnen

The artists were arriving from near and far!

11_die-Fortsetzung

The party goes on in „Eden Bar“ nearby.

12_Simon

Renate´s grandson Simon is taking care of the guests with great pleasure.

13_Gemütliche-Stimmung

Comfortable atmosphere at the „Eden Bar“.

14_Kulinarische

Great entertainment with Anita Eberwein, Georg Lehner und Fritz Fischer.

14a_Kulinarische
15_Paul

Paul is offering delicous delicacies.

25 Jahre Galerie Slavik

Die Qualität einer Idee

Renate Slavik im Gespräch mit Claudia Lehner Jobst

Qualität ist das Prinzip, das Renate Slavik in den vergangenen 25 Jahren ihrer Arbeit Galeristin geleitet hat. Wie geht sie aber dabei vor, was ist Qualität in der Kunst?

RS: Wichtig ist, dass ein Werk eine Aussage hat. Das ist, was Schmuckkunst von Schmuck unterscheidet. Jedes Objekt repräsentiert auf authentische Weise die Welt einer Künstlerin oder eines Künstlers.

Die aktive Jurytätigkeit und der Grassi-Preis der Galerie Slavik ist seit einigen Jahren ein fester Bestandteil im Jahreslauf.  Auch hier ist ein Empfinden und Entdecken gefragt, in der Fülle der Kreativität „das Eine“ zu finden.

RS: Es ist oft nicht leicht, sich zu entscheiden, denn es gibt „das Eine“, das Ausschließliche nicht. Das liegt auch im Wesen der Kunst. Gerade in der Schmuckkunst gibt es diesen schönen Moment, wie ich es immer betone, wenn Menschen in der Galerie „ihr Pendant“ finden: Das Schmuckobjekt, das sie ganz nahe bei sich tragen möchten, weil es etwas aus ihrem Inneren spiegelt oder ausstrahlt, oder sie ergänzt, spannungsvoll bereichert oder einfach erfreut.

Die Jurytätigkeit macht glücklich, auch wenn man eine Wahl treffen muss, denn ich genieße es, jungen Künstlerinnen und Künstlern ein Sprungbrett zu bereiten. Das ist heute wichtiger denn je.

Wie könnte der Leitspruch lauten, der Zauberspruch einer erfolgreichen Galeristin, ihres Teams, ihrer Freunde und „ihrer“ Künstler?

RS: Ich glaube an Wunder, und sie passieren…

Auszug aus Katalog Schmuck Stadtgespräch, Mai 2016,
Renate Slavik im Gespräch mit Claudia Lehner-Jobst

renateslavik

„Manchmal bedarf es einer Reise nach San Francisco um in die Himmelpfortgasse in Wien zu finden…“

„Wenn Ihnen dieser Schmuck gefällt, dann sollten Sie unbedingt zu „Velvet da Vinci“ gehen“. Ich hob meinen Kopf und sah in das strahlende Gesicht einer Verkäuferin im  Museumsshop vom San Francisco Museum of Modern Art. Die anschließende Exkursion in die Polk Street gemeinsam mit meinem Mann Gerald brachte eine reiche Ausbeute: ein unverzichtbares Schmuckstück für meine Sammlung und einen Berg an inspirierenden Katalogen und Monographien. In einem dieser Bücher wurden wir einige Jahre später fündig, als es um die Frage ging, wie der Ehering für unsere bevorstehende Hochzeit aussehen sollte. Gerald und ich wählten voneinander unabhängig einen Ring des Schmuckkünstlers Stefano Marchetti aus. Jetzt ging es darum, Stefano beziehungsweise eine Galerie, die ihn vertritt, ausfindig zu machen. Erfreut stellte ich fest, dass das Ziel ganz nahe liegt: die Wiener Galerie Slavik in der Himmelpfortgasse 17, die ich zwar kannte, aber bisher noch nie betreten hatte.

Schon beim ersten Besuch in Renates Galerie wurden wir mit einer enormen Herzlichkeit empfangen und mit einer solchen Begeisterung in ihre Welt eingeführt, sodass ich den Eindruck hatte, dass nun all die Jahre der Abwesenheit getilgt waren. Als ich schließlich den Namen Stefano Marchetti erwähnte, folgte sogleich eine leidenschaftliche Laudatio dieses großartigen Künstlers, die mit den Worten endete: “Und er macht auch wunderbare Eheringe!“.

Seither sind fünf Jahre vergangen. Fünf Jahre mit wunderschönen Ausstellungen, Künstlergesprächen und einem spannenden Austausch mit Dir, Renate – Du Wirbelwind! Gerald sagte einmal völlig treffend über Dich: „Der Bau des AKW Zwentendorf war völlig überflüssig – bei der Energie, die Renate versprüht!“.

Auf die nächsten 25 Jahre!

— Ingrid Schulz, Psychiater, Wien

lehnerjobst

Ingrid Schulz mit Brosche von Nicola Heidemann

Wir verdanken der verehrten Renate verdammt viele Verschönerungen und damit  Verbesserungen an uns. Falls wir zu lange bei ihr verweilen, sind wir entweder verschuldet oder verarmt, aber NIE verdrossen, weil verziert, veredelt und – es klingt nicht verwegen – auch verjüngt! In diesem Sinne fühlen wir uns mit der versierten Renate, die uns auch jede Verstimmung vertreibt, innig verbunden.

25 Jahre Galerie Slavik – Verdientes Lob!

— Luise Kurmayer

kurmayer

Luise Kurmayer mit der Lapislazuli Kette von Michael Becker

Ein Brennpunkt der internationalen Schmuck-Kunst: die Galerie Slavik in Wien

„Ein winziges Blatt Papier kann die Welt enthalten.“ Dieser wunderbare Satz des Malers Wols (Alfred Otto Wolfgang Schulze), den ich für einen der bedeutendsten europäischen Künstler des 20. Jahrhunderts halte, kann auch Jahrzehnte später als Mission Statement für die Galerie Slavik gelten: ein Universum von kleinsten Artefakten, ein Ort ungeheurer Vitalität im kleinen Maßstab.

Renate Slavik, die kongeniale Gründerin und Inhaberin der Galerie sehe ich als eine Übertragungskünstlerin: ausgehend von ihrer eigenen Faszination begleitet sie die an Schmuck-Kunst Interessierten auf eine Reise in einen Mikrokosmos von Formen, Materialien und Transformationen. Die Schar der bekennenden Schmuck-Aficionados wächst in ihrem Umfeld daher dementsprechend rasch.

Die Galerie Slavik ist auch ein Ort der Begegnung mit Künstlerinnen und Künstlern, die ihre Konzepte präsentieren und über ihre weiteren Projekte offen diskutieren. In der Welt des Turbokapitalismus und des Neoliberalismus hat das Denken in Luxury Brands und Rankings längst die Lust an einer tiefgehenden Auseinandersetzung mit Kunstwerken (dazu zähle ich auch Schmuck) überlagert beziehungsweise weit in den Hintergrund gedrängt. Umschlagplätze und Einkaufstempel für Schmuck gibt es viele, aber Orte der sinnlichen Vermittlung und Auseinandersetzung sind leider rar geworden. Nicht zuletzt aus diesem Grund wünsche ich mir – und allen Schmuck-Kunst-Liebhaberinnen & Liebhabern – einen langen Fortbestand dieser verdienstvollen Institution.

— Gerald Trimmel, Kulturwissenschaftler und Künstler

Portrait-Trimmel-Gerald-web

Gerald Trimmel

1_Plakat

Die Ausstellung SCHMUCK STADTGESPRÄCH 25 Jahre Galerie Slavik wird eröffnet!

2_Die-Gäste

Die Gäste trudeln ein…

3_Renate_Denni

Renate und Denni

3a_Ausschnitt_RS-eröffnet

Renate Slavik eröffnet die Ausstellung mit viel Freude und Enthusiasmus.

4_ein-sapnnendes-Zusammentreffen

Ein spannendes Zusammentreffen von KünstlerInnen, KundInnen und FreundInnen!

5_juttapietsch

Jutta Pietsch-Grabner stellt den Katalog SCHMUCK STADTGESPRÄCH vor, der unsere Ausstellung dokumentiert.

6_der-druckfrische-Katalog

Der druckfrische Katalog wird gleich studiert!

7_Charmante-Bewirtung

Charmante Bewirtung unserer Gäste.

8_Spannende-Schmuckgespräche

Spannende Schmuck Gespräche.

8a_Kundinnen-von-morgen

Kundinnen von morgen..

9_Angeregte-Unterhaltung

Angeregte Unterhaltung zwischen Schmuckkünstler und Kunden.

10_KünstlerInnen

Die KünstlerInnen kamen von Nah und Fern!

11_die-Fortsetzung

Die Fortsetzung des Festes in der nahe gelegenen Eden Bar.

12_Simon

Mit großer Freude versorgte Renates Enkel Simon die geladenen Gäste.

13_Gemütliche-Stimmung

Gemütliche Stimmung in der Eden Bar.

14_Kulinarische

Musikalische Kulturnahrung von Anita Eberwein, Georg Lehner und Fritz Fischer.

14a_Kulinarische
15_Paul

Paul versorgt die Gäste mit kulinarischen Kunstnahrung.